The Biggest Cricket Events That Will Take Place in 2019

If you are a cricket fan, you might be in for a surprise, as 2019 is filled with various exciting events that will feed your cricket hunger throughout the year.

These events are also popular among sports bettors who are already placing bets on the winner of the tournament or single matches. Betting on cricket is also popular in countries where cricket is not a major sport, as fans from all corners of the Earth enjoy wagering on this sport. Online sports betting with Fanduel is one of the places that lets people test their skills and luck on cricket.

Let’s take a look at some of the most popular tournaments and leagues that are expected to start soon or have already been underway. Read on!

Indian Premier League 2019

The Indian Premier League is a professional cricket league that takes place in India. All matches are played during March, April, and May every year, and the competition includes eight teams, each representing one of the eight cities in India.

Needless to say, the IPL is a huge sports event which is regarded as the most popular cricket league in the world. In fact, many consider the IPL the sixth most popular sports event overall. The brand value of the league is estimated at $6.3 billion, and it was one of the first sports events to be streamed live on YouTube.

The first Indian Premier League took place in 2008 when it was established by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. Its popularity has been growing ever since, making cricket the single most popular Indian sport.

2019 Cricket World Cup

The 2019 Cricket World Cup is probably the most anticipated event among cricket lovers. It will start on May 30 and end on July 14. The tournament will have a round-robin format, which means that all teams that participate in it will face each other before proceeding to the knockout phase. The top four teams will advance to the semi-finals, while the rest of them will be eliminated.

The teams that will take part in this competition are England, South Africa, India, Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Afganistan, and West Indes. The tournament will take place in England and Wales, and The Oval will host the opening match between England and South Africa.

2019 Ashes Series

The Ashes Series (which is also called Specsavers Ashes Series) is a series of cricket matches that are played between England and Australia. They compete every season for a trophy which is called The Ashes. The series will begin on August 1 and wrap up on September 16. At the moment, the trophy is owned by the Australian cricket team, and they will try to defend their title throughout five matches that will take place all across the UK. The series usually begins much earlier every year, but the 2019 Cricket World Cup postponed it to August.


Did you know that cricket is the second most popular sport in the world, right after soccer? Many people from Europe and the Americas are unaware of this fact, simply because they are not very interested in this sport. India, Pakistan, Australia, and the UK, among others, are the countries where people are going nuts over this sport, and 2019 is going to be a great year for all cricket fans. Make sure to prepare for the upcoming Cricket World Cup as soon as the IPL wraps up, as it is expected to be bigger than ever!